Blog

Resource Planning Best Practices: Views

If you have used Ganttic or played around with the planner in your trial, you will notice this particular feature that resembles browser tabs on the top of the planner. These planner tabs are called ‘Views’. In this article, you will learn about how views can drastically transform your resource planning process for the better, how to add a view, how to open up a view, how to rename a view, how to save a view and how to delete a view.

Why are views so awesome
Views have transformed so many of our users’ work lives that we feel it deserves a ‘Best Practice’ post of its own. Imagine this: you frequently need to switch between having your resources grouped by locations and having your resources grouped by roles. Sometimes, you need to re-customise everything to compare two projects then after that, you have to reset everything back to what it was. Heavens forbid if someone asks to see the two projects’ comparison again. Views are so that you can have all of these customisations saved in separate tabs and can easily switch among the different customisations of your resources. In a way, views allow you to look at your resources from multiple angles without wasting time with configuration.
Besides convenience factors, it’s also useful for allocating a default view for each of your users. So that when they log in, they only see the view that is directly relevant for their work, instead of being overwhelmed by the entire organisation’s data.

How to add a view
To add a view, click on the red ‘NEW’ button on the top left corner and a list will drop down from it. Click on “Add View” and a new tab will appear. Name the new tab, configure the resources and click on ‘Save view’. Every time you have made a configuration, the ‘Save view’ button will change from white to red to remind you to save it. To rename the view, simply click on the view title to rename.



How to open up a view
Now that you have a new view, every time you need to open it up, click on the plus icon on the right of the tabs. From the tab that appears, choose any resource views, projects or reports. Repeat this step to open as many existing views as you want. The ‘Open…’ tab is also where you can delete resource views or reports, by clicking on the bin icon on the right of each view / report.


If you are not sure how to configure your resources and have them grouped differently, please take a look at this post that tells you about resource grouping and how to add them. In the next ‘Best Practices’ feature post, we will be talking about the utilisation feature - which is the percentage figures that you see beside each resources.

Author: Patricia Goh